Yogi Lifestyle from Milenar Sanskrit Books


Ashta- eight


“Theoretical knowledge is not important if not brought to practice in day to day life.”Swamiji Jitendra Das  

1-Yama (self-restraints for social life)

A) Ahimsa- non-violence

Physical; mental; verbal towards oneself or someone else

Everything comes to us according to our behavior. If we act violently we will get violence (Karma).

We make the environment around us, doesn’t matter what is going on, we can change inside our thoughts, feelings and energy through deep breathing, which will bring clearance and peaceful speech, hearing and actions).

B) Satya- truthfulness

Speak truth, no lies. If hiding the truth, be quiet and do not say anything

If not sure about something, do not say anything. Do not lie to yourself, follow your heart and think carefully before saying something.

C) Asteya- honesty

Do not still objects, ideas or energy from other people. Do not discuss trying to convince people about something and remember..

 we can change ourselves but not others.

D) Brahmacharya- continence

Brahma- Supreme Lord

Charya- life style

Sattva- sex with love where both are in consciousness

Rajas and Tamas- sex only for own enjoyment, not pure, not from the heart. Do not do it, practice brahmacharya and avoid losing energy.

E) Aparigraha- non possessiveness

Detachment with all material things, verbal lies and mental heavy memories

2- Nyama (Law of life and personal code)

A) Shaucha- internal and external cleanliness

B) Santosha- contentment / satisfaction (be thankful no matter what)

C) Tapas- austerity (overcome uncomfortable situations)

D) Swadhyaya- self-study (self-practice; self-discipline)

E) Iswarpranidhan- faith in a higher reality

“Yoga should be practice without the Ego with humbleness. Without the Ego we are free to express ourselves and to allow God to live through us.” Swamiji Jitendra Das

3- Asana (position/posture)

Patanjali brought asanas to the knowledge of mankind.

Position has to be steady and comfortable.

4- Pranayama (Control of vital energy)

Vitality – Patanjali brought these various breathing techniques to achieve the goal of mental balance and Samadhi (enlightment)

5- Pratyahara (Control of the senses)

We have so many desires in our lives and usually when we fulfill these desires we are unconscious so they keep coming back over and over again. Instead if we do everything consciously we are able to control the numerous desires we have and truly fulfill them.

6- Dharana – Concentration

First step towards meditation, controlling the mind also body will be under control. When you achieve a high level of concentration you will naturally go into meditaion.

7- Dhyana – Meditation

When you manage to control mind and body you will find subject and object only, no desires and disturbances, this is called meditation.

8- Samadhi – Super Consciousness

Yogi connects with all beings and becomes one with the whole Universe.